Class Notes

Do you have news to share? Please fill out this form in order to have your news considered for publication.

April 2014

Class Notes

Bishop L. Bevel Jones III 46C 49T was given the Day1 Pioneer Award in Christian Communication in honor of his masterful, humble, and winsome proclamation of the Word of God in the pulpit, in print, on the radio, and on television. Day1 is the national weekly ecumenical radio program produced by the Alliance for Christian Media.

Eugene F. Black 53T received the 2013 Peter Cartwright Lifetime Evangelism Award from the Illinois Great Rivers Conference of The United Methodist Church.

Thomas M. McRhee II 82T is now the Interfaith Chaplain for Village on the Green, a continuous care retirement community in Longwood, Florida.

Max A. Wilkins 87T was elected the President and CEO of The Mission Society.

Randy Kanipe 93T 96T will complete a DMin in Spiritual Formation from Asbury Seminary in May 2015.

J. Christopher McKee 97L 97T is now an Adjunct Professor at the University of Colorado Law School and the Director of the Schaden Experiential Learning and Public Service Programs.

James A. Cloar 99T is now the Senior Minister at First Christian Church of Bedford in Bedford, Indiana.

Acacia Bamberg Salatti 99T will receive the "Open Door" Award from The April 4th Foundation in Memphis, Tennessee this April. It recognizes the work of those "opening doors" for others and paving the way for the realization of Dr. King's Dream. Dr. C.T. Vivian, legendary Civil Rights Leader, will provide the keynote at the ceremony.

Matt E. Hinton 00T and Erica Hinton welcomed a baby girl, Charolotte Grace, into the world in February.

Cindy L. Maddox 02T was installed as the new Senior Pastor at First Congregational Church (UCC) of South Portland, Maine in February.

Sara L. Shaver 02T will be appointed to the Demopolis District as their District Superintendent in the Alabama-West Florida Conference.

Melissa Traver Griffis 97OX 03T is now pastor at Rincon United Methodist Church.

Michael Stone 03T was ordained in the Episcopal Priesthood in November 2013.

Rebecca J. Andrews 06T and Michael Stone 03T welcomed a baby girl, Emory Elizabeth, into the world on July 7, 2012.

James R. Aycock 07T is now the Director of Student Support at Grizzlies Preparatory Charter School in Tennessee.

Paul E. Appleby 08T 09T is now the Senior Minister at Central Christian Church in Columbus, Georgia.

C. Lynn Hopkins 08T was ordained into Unitarian Universalist ministry by First Unitarian Society of Denver.

Stacey J. Doremus 12T is now the Program Coordinator for Leadership Education and Development at Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Georgia.

Woods B. Lisenby 14T has been appointed Chaplain at Huntingdon College.

In Memoriam

Dr. James H. Hankins 56T died December 10, 2013. He was a minister in The United Methodist Church for 43 years, most recently serving in the Florida Conference.

The Rev. Gerald T. McCray, Sr. 58T died March 3. He was a United Methodist minister, serving churches in Iowa, Georgia, Florida, Alaska, and Oregon during his lifetime.

Bishop Robert C. Morgan 58T died  March 16. His life was filled with teaching, preaching, and speaking engagements across his more than 50 years of service to the United Methodist Church. In 1984, at the Southeast Jurisdictional Conference at Lake Junaluska, Bob Morgan was elected and consecrated as a Bishop of The United Methodist Church. During his active episcopacy, he was assigned to the Mississippi Area and the Kentucky Area of the UMC. He also served as the presiding bishop of the worldwide Council of Bishops, president of the General Board of Church and Society, president of the Southeastern College of Bishops, and a member of the General Board of Discipleship and the General Board of Global Ministry.

The Rev. Dr. J. Larry Amos 62T died March 5. He was a minister in the North Georgia Conference of The United Methodist Church.

The Rev. L. Carman King 64T died February 4. He was a minister in the Kentucky Conference of The United Methodist Church.

The Rev. Thurman Rivers, Jr. 71T died February 7, 2013. He was a minister in the Florida Conference of The United Methodist Church.

The Rev. Gary A. Karoly 79T died February 23. He was an ordained Methodist minister who served United Methodist and independent congregations for 38 years.

Ms. May L. Gustafson 97T died February 18.

Do you have news to share? Please fill out this form in order to have your news considered for publication.